Blessed in the Mess

Do you ever have days where you want to feel sorry for yourself? Even better, do you have those days where you know you would be feeling sorry for yourself but you can’t help to smile at the blessings you have? This is me as of late.

It has been nearly three months since I have taken a position working in ministry. I am also 28 weeks pregnant, and my husband is due to start school to become a law enforcement officer in a month. We moved to a new home this weekend. Our puppy is now a year old with a personality all his own. What is God doing, putting all of this in my life at once?

Blessed in the MessRather than feeling the weight that I normally would, I have the lightness in my heart from a team coming together as a family. There is no explanation for the incredibly good mood I have been in despite being pregnant and exhausted from moving all of our belongings into a new space. God has taken my hand in this season and is guiding me through to see with His eyes. I have been able to see the beauty in the small things without the big issues distorting my vision.

If you are in a season where this calm with God beside me seems unimaginable, I would offer you some encouragement. We all move through seasons in life, and the emotions we feel alongside them can be challenging. I am moving through what could have been a season of crippling stress with a new job, house, baby on the way, and my husband stepping into a career that places a target on his head. The peace I feel now may not seem attainable in the future.

 

 

Scripture tells us many times over that seasons are short-term and purposeful.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heavens.

Psalm 1:2-3 But whose delight is in the law of the Lord,
    and who meditates on his law day and night.
That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
    which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
    whatever they do prospers.

Philippians 4:11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content, whatever the circumstances.

God is telling us in His word how to handle the life he has given is. Isaiah 55:8 tells us “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. We won’t understand what He is doing. We won’t have insight to His plans. But we do have the peace of knowing that He is always in control. Relinquishing the control we wish to have over our lives to allow Him space to work without our interference is a difficult, but is also an important act of obedience.

Today I challenge you to pause and find Him in your heart. Come to Him in the midst of your emotions. Thank Him for the season He has given you, and ask for guidance in what you will learn from it. Offer yourself up to intentionally learn and follow. Leave your fear or hesitation behind, let Him lead.

Leave a Reply

